Picture of a compass with text "leadership"

Page updated 17 July 2021; Burlington Presbyterian Church


Rev. Catriona (Trina) Portillo was installed as pastor of the Presbyterian Church in Burlington in February 2018. Rev. Portillo is the third installed pastor at the church since its founding in 1962. Trina is vice-moderator of the Presbytery of Boston. She has recently begun a D. Min. program through Pittsburgh Theological Seminary focused on faithful risk-taking. She had served previously as our interim minister, and before that as pastor of a small, urban congregation in Rochester, NY. She and her family relocated to Massachusetts in 2014. Trina graduated from the College of Wooster in Ohio and McCormick Theological Seminary in Chicago. She worked in development for Chicago Lights, the non-profit outreach ministry of Fourth Presbyterian Church, Chicago. Rev. Portillo has been involved in food justice projects with the denomination, and immigrant support and orientation with the International Institute of New England. Trina lives in Framingham with her husband and daughter. She enjoys a variety of arts and cultural opportunities. When not engaged in ministry or family activities, Trina enjoys singing in a community choir, taking walks in nature, watching movies, and trying new kinds of cuisine.

The Session

Church governance in the Presbyterian Church (USA) is a shared power, exercised by Ministers and Elders gathered in councils. The Presbyterian Church in Burlington is governed by our church council (the “Session” in Presbyterian parlance). The session is comprised of the Pastor and Elders, elected by the congregation.

Councils of the church must give full expression to the rich diversity of the church’s membership and provide for full participation and access to representation in decision-making. The Holy Spirit calls women and men to all ministries of the church. Elected church leaders do not simply reflect the will of the people, but seek together to find and represent the will of Christ. The Session has responsibility for governing the congregation and guiding its witness to the activity of God in the world, so that the congregation may be a community of faith, hope, love, and witness. Church boards under the authority of the Session include the Deacons and the Trustees.

Session Members

  • Trina Portillo (Pastor & Moderator)
  • Jason Brooks
  • Brad Morrison
  • Jen Slater
  • Erin McCoy Alarcon
  • Marylou Lynn (Clerk)
  • Mark Vogel


The ministry of deacon is one of compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress. Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, sincere compassion, and sound judgment should be chosen for this ministry.

Board of Deacons

  • Marcy Agyapong
  • Kim Oey-Rosenthal
  • Jackline Pipim
  • Trish Briggs
  • Barbara Anderson
  • Bridgette Kangsen


The Presbyterian Church in Burlington elects trustees who have responsibility for maintaining the church property and overseeing church funds. Their responsibilities are under the authority of the session and the congregation as provided in the Book of Order and the BPC By-Laws.

Board of Trustees

  • Mark Wells
  • Joseph Porte
  • Lou Mowry
  • Jim Brunner
  • Fred Lefang